28th July 2023
By Wendy Collinson

EJN joins RSF and other international organisations to develop an AI charter for media

In response to the major threat posed by the increasing use of artificial intelligence (AI) in the media. Reporters Without Borders (RSF) and its partners, including the Ethical Journalism Network (EJN), are launching an international committee to develop a charter to regulate the use of AI in media.

The committee, chaired by Nobel Peace Prize laureate, Maria Ressa, consists of 21 distinguished members from 13 different countries who are academics and professionals in the field of journalism, AI and digital technologies. The role of the committee is to develop a set of principles, rights and obligations for information professionals regarding the use of AI-based systems and it will deliver its work by the end of 2023. The reputation of the members and the diversity of the partner organisations should make this text a reference in the media industry.

List of the committee members :

  • Maria Ressa (chair), 2021 Nobel Peace Prize laureate, journalist and founder of Rappler media (Philippines)
  • Charlie Beckett, Professor at the Department of Media and Communications at the London School of Economics (United Kingdom)
  • Emily Bell, Professor at the Columbia School of Journalism and Director of the Tow Center for Digital Journalism (United States)
  • Veysel Binbay, Director of Technology at the Asian Broadcasting Union (ABU) (Malaysia)
  • Lisa Campbell, Director of Communications at Independent Television Network (ITN) (United Kingdom)
  • Camille François, Faculty, Columbia University School of International and Public Affairs (France)
  • Jodie Ginsberg, President of the Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) (United States)
  • Ruth Kronenburg, Executive Director of Free Press Unlimited (Netherlands)
  • Gary Marcus, Professor emeritus of psychology and neural science at New York University, author and entrepreneur (United States)
  • Frane Maroevic, Executive Director of the International Press Institute (IPI) (Austria)
  • Mira Milosevic, Executive Director of the Global Forum for Media Development (GFMD) (Serbia)
  • Tabani Moyo, Convenor of IFEX, Regional Director of the Media Institute of Southern Africa (MISA) (Zimbabwe)
  • Bruno Patino, President of the Franco-German channel Arte (France)
  • Paul Radu, Co-founder of the Organized Crime and Corruption Reporting Project (OCCRP) (Romania)
  • Martha Ramos, President of the World Editors Forum at the World Association of News Publishers (WAN-IFRA) (Mexico)
  • Gerard Ryle, Director of the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists (ICIJ) (Ireland)
  • Stuart Russell, Professor of Computer Science at the University of California, Berkeley and founder of the Center for Human-compatible AI (CHAI) (United States)
  • Eric Scherer, Chair, News Committee at the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) and Director of News MediaLab and International Affairs at France Télévisions (France)
  • Anya Schiffrin, Director of the Specialization in Technology, Media, and Communications at Columbia University (United States)
  • Wairagala Wakabi, Executive Director of the Collaboration on International ICT Policy in East and Southern Africa (CIPESA) (Uganda)
  • Aidan White, founder of the Ethical Journalism Network (EJN) and former Secretary General of the International Federation of Journalists (IFJ) (United Kingdom)
List of organisations :

Reporters Without Borders (RSF)

Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union (ABU)
Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ)
European Broadcasting Union (EBU)
Ethical Journalism Network (EJN)
Free Press Unlimited (FPU)
Global Forum for Media Development (GFMD)
International Consortium of Investigative Journalists (ICIJ)
International Press Institute (IPI)
Organized Crime and Corruption Reporting Project (OCCRP)
World Association of News publishers (WAN-IFRA)

Read RSF’s press release: https://rsf.org/en/collaboration-its-partners-reporters-without-borders-rsf-launches-international-committee-ai

Main image by metamorworks (Shutterstock)